Updated Urgent Notice on Visa Issuance

Some Measures announced in the Address to the Nation by Prime Minister Rt. Hon. K P Sharma Oli
20 March 2020

All international flights to Nepal have been suspended from 22 to 31 March 2020.

Keeping in priority of health-safety of the passengers crossing through the border points and with a view to prevent from contagion, arrangements will be made for cross-border movements with mandatory health check-up. Necessary coordination will be made with neighbouring countries in this regard.

With an exception of the necessary services as published in the Nepal Gazette, all other services to be delivered by federal, provincial and local level public, community, and private service delivery institutions will be closed all over the country from 22 March to 03 April 2020.

Operation of long haul passenger vehicles all over Nepal has been suspended for some time effective from 23 March 2020.

Crowded public places like cinema halls etc. have been closed for the time being.

Teachings and examinations of the schools and universities have been postponed for the time being.

Contingent upon the state of the COVID-19 pandemic, additional measures may be announced with the cooperation of the people as we go on.

Nepal remains committed to move ahead in cooperation with the neighbours, regional friends and international community to fight against the COVID-19 pandemic and will contribute NRs. 10 crores to the joint fund announced by the Prime Minister of India for combating COVID-19 in the SAARC countries.

/Source: www.mofa.gov.np/

Very Urgent Notice Regarding Arrival Restrictions in Nepal

Government of Nepal (GoN) has been monitoring the present global pandemic, scale of severity and spread of COVID-19 around the world, the National High Level Coordination Committee, the Government of Nepal, has made the following decision:

All the passengers coming through direct flights, having a transit at, and taking the first flight of their origin from Europe, West-Asia and all the Gulf Countries, Turkey, Malaysia, South Korea and Japan are subjected to Arrival Restrictions in Nepal.

The measure will come into effect from midnight (Nepali standard time, NST), Friday, March 20, 2020 to midnight (NST), Sunday, April 12, 2020.

Embassy of Nepal
Tokyo, Japan
March 19, 2020